Jars of Clay. What can you say about a band with such an illustrious career and catalog deep enough to challenge almost any band in the music industry? It would be impossible for me to fully describe the impact that JOC has had on my life, my way of thinking, and my standard for musicians. They set the bar high, and should they never release another new note of music, I’ll be forever grateful for their contribution to the world. If for some reason you missed these guys and know nothing about them I would hope that you’d take the time to give them a shot. Whether it ends up being your cup of tea or not, I’d say any time listening to their work is time well spent.

Now, I know some like to know what they are getting into so I’ll give you my best attempt at describing what you’ll hear…Jars of Clay is a band deeply influenced by The Beatles, Toad the Wet Sprocket, Crowded House, and Depeche Mode just to name a few. They have undergone many stylistic reinventions, but the constants that you can expect are high-quality musicality (typically acoustic-driven in style), tight vocal harmonies, and poetic lyrics with many layers of depth.

If that piques your curiosity then read on as I attempt the unenviable task of ranking their eleven studio releases. Also, please keep in mind that I’d say they’ve never released a truly bad album, I simply rank them in order of how often I re-listen to them and something has to be at the bottom of the list. Here goes…

11. Christmas Songs (2007)

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a fine Christmas album that is well done, but something had to be last. So, because I only listen to Christmas music for about 2-3 weeks out of the year this is an easy pick to rank at the end.

10. Redemption Songs (2005)

At this point in their career, the CCM scene was all about the worship releases. My estimation is this was one of those times the record label put pressure on the band to be “relevant” which is usually just code for selling records by doing what’s popular. This album is Jar’s attempt at a compromise. Some good hymn covers here and my favorites are “On Jordan’s Stormy Banks I Stand,” “God Be Merciful to Me,” and “I’ll Fly Away.”

9. The Shelter (2010)

This is an album that Jars did in community with many of their artist friends and bands based around an old Irish proverb that says, “In the shelter of each other the people will live.” There are several songs I like, among them are “Out of My Hands,” “Eyes Wide Open,” and “The Shelter.”

8. If I Left The Zoo (1999)

This album is their third release and has the unfortunate task of following up on their first two wildly successful albums. They tried a new approach, producer, and pushed themselves to do something outside of the typical Jars sound. They end up with a good album, but it pales in comparison to the first two. I can’t imagine the pressure they must have felt. The title was originally to be If I Ran the Zoo, but it ran into copyright issues with a dr. Seuss book with the same name. Its musical direction is still primarily acoustic-based with a few twists. My favorite tunes are the first four tracks “Goodbye Goodnight,” “Unforgetful You,” “Collide,” and “No One Loves Me Like You.” Songs “I’m Alright” and “Grace” are also great tunes worth checking out.

7. Who We Are Instead (2003)

Jars of Clay goes Americana/country?! It is a great fit for their sound, and there are some excellent songs here. One thing I love about the band is their willingness and ability to reinvent themselves. I believe it’s what sets great bands apart from mere good ones. It’s also one reason for such longevity in the music industry. The best of a slew of awesome songs are “Amazing Grace,” “Trouble Is,” “Show You Love,” “Lesser Things,” and “Jealous Kind.”

6. The Eleventh Hour (2002)

This one came at a pivotal time in my life during college. I was wrestling with my faith, and processing doubt. Did I believe it or just because my parents did? Ultimately songs like “The Edge of Water,” “The Eleventh” Hour,” and “Silence” were the topic of great late-night discussions with college buddies in the dormitory. Other songs I gravitate toward are “Disappear,” “Something Beautiful,” and “I Need You.” There’s desperation and spiritual wrestling that pervades this album, and it will always hold a special place in my heart. Well deserving of my number two favorite album by my favorite band.

5. The Long Fall Back To Earth (2009)

The Jars Boys tap into their 80s and 90s influences and produce a pop record with outstanding results. This album has a bevy of great tunes with my overall favorite being “Safe to Land.” Other favorites are, “Weapons,” “Two Hands,” “Closer,” “Boys (Lesson One),” “Hero,” “There Might Be a Light,” and “Heart.” On second thought this might be ranked too low! This record is what I would describe as a predominately horizontal relationship based. There is a yearning and melancholy sadness that is contrasted nicely with happy sounding 80’s music.

4. Good Monsters (2006)

Jars of Clay has never been a true rock band per se, but there are moments here where they turn up the electric amps to 11. Their most aggressive sounding at times, they still maintain the depth of lyrics that make them worth the time to listen to and earn them high replayability. My favorite songs are, “Work,” “Dead Man (Carry Me),” “All My Tears,” Oh My God,” “Take Me Higher,” and “Light Gives Heat.” A true highlight among their discography and my number fourth favorite record of theirs overall.

3. Inland (2013)

The last new music (and I hope not the last they ever release!) we’ve heard from the fellas, they take a more indie/alternative sound on this self-released album called Inland. I love the concept of the record as it encourages the listener to push past fear and courageously keep moving outside their comfort zone. The best songs are “After the Fight,” “Love in Hard Times,” “Pennsylvania,” “Age of Immature Mistakes,” “Undone,” and “Inland.”

2. Much Afraid (1997)

My number two favorite album is Much Afraid and has some Classic all-time great Jars songs. This had always been a great album but it had to earn my love over many years before I could have it settle in at #2. Written during the same period as the debut but held over until this release, “Fade to Grey” and “Frail” is the cream of the crop. Other good ones are “Overjoyed,” “Tea & Sympathy,” and “Crazy Times.” The title track “Much Afraid” and the closing song “Hymn” are two delightful slower tunes as well. The album was the follow-up to their surprising smash hit debut. The title of the album is based on the main character’s name in the Christian classic book Hinds Feet In High Places and oozes a naked vulnerability. They must have been very aware of falling into the sophomore slump but they easily avoid it and gave the listening world a classic.

Jars of Clay Much Afraid is 25

1. Self-Titled (1995)

If you know me at all this is no surprise to you that their Self-Titled is my number one album. It’s the album that cemented me as a forever fan. I’d say a conservative estimate of how many times I’ve listened to the record is five hundred times since its release over twenty-five years ago. I have multiple copies (one at home, and one for each car) and often buy them used if they’re priced super cheap to give away. I tell my wife as she rolls her eyes, that I need to “rescue” them and find them homes that will truly appreciate them.

My favorite song on an album that does not need skipping songs is “Liquid,” with “Worlds Apart” the closest second it can be. Other highlights are “Sinking,” “Love Song For a Savior,” “Boy on a String,” and “Flood.” You’ve probably heard “Flood” at some point through the years. Though it got them noticed on mainstream radio and MTV, it’s far from their best song. It’s good, but they should not be judged on or thought to be that style of the band, as it’s not the norm for their sound. Do yourself a favor and listen to this one pronto! Below is a blog post I did further singing the praises of this one as it was celebrating its twentieth birthday.

Jars of Clay Self Titled is 20!

So there you have it! My best go at the impossible task of ranking my favorite band’s catalogue. Did I miss anything? How would you rank their discography? I’d love to hear from you! Also, for your listening pleasure click the link below to listen to their entire discography with a few bonus songs included.

Happy listening!

-Josh

Jars of Clay Spotify Playlist