1998. The year I moved from sixteen to seventeen. My junior year. Baseball was still my world, but the music never took much of a backseat, only serving as a soundtrack to my adventures in “teenagering.” I would have been listening to most of these, still finding them via CCM Magazine reviews and monthly trips to the brick-and-mortar Family Christian Bookstore. I spent many hours listening to demos and agonizing over which to purchase next before spending my limited funds. It’s an era I still look back on fondly.

Anyway, though it hardly seems to have been so long ago, here are the 25 Albums from 1998 that I wanted to highlight and celebrate. The bottom 15 are unranked but I wanted to include them as ones I enjoyed at the time of their release. The Top 10 are the ones I still listen to more regularly Enjoy!

Rebecca St JamesPray

Okay, I admit it…much like thousands of other guys my age back then I was enamored with RSJ. 😳 That admission aside I think Pray is probably my third favorite of her catalog, it’s still a solid pop/rock album with the title track, the two cover songs, and closer “Omega” being my faves.

The W’sFourth From Last

I too got bitten by the brief resurgence of swing big band and listened to this album a lot. “The Devil is Bad” is still the most known song of the lot but I’m very partial to “King of Polyester,” even using the song title as a deep cut name for a few fantasy football teams through the years. “You are the devil, and you are bad!”

Cindy MorganThe Loving Kind

Ever a sucker for concept albums this one based around the last eight days of Jesus’ life leading to the crucifixion is a pleasant CCM take I enjoyed.

SkilletHey, You I Love Your Soul

The ever-evolving sound of Skillet took a turn from the raw grunge of the debut to a more electronic/industrial sonic palate, making it quite the surprise of fans. “Locked in a Cage” the title track and “More Faithful” are the ones I return to most.

Michelle TumesListen

Dreamy. Angelic. Soothing. At the time of its release, I would have been listening to this a great deal. While I don’t revisit it often now, it’s still a great listen every time I do. Not a bad tune in the bunch.

Five Iron FrenzyQuantity is Job 1 EP

(Raspberry noise) But seriously, a true classic. “Dandelions,” Sweet Talkin Woman,” “One Girl Army,” The Pants Opera…all the ingredients of what makes FiF legendary are present. Worship. Fun cover song. Serious commentary on the world. Silliness. It’s easy to see why they built (and maintain) a fiercely loyal fanbase.

FFHI Want to be Like You

If this list was simply about the albums I listened to the most back in 1998 this one would be an easy Top 10. As it is, this remains a great album of the era with plenty of fantastic songs to tune into from time to time. “One of These Days” and “Big Fish” are my favorites.

Kirk FranklinNu Nation Project

“Preach preacher! Do you wanna revolution?! Whoop whoop!” Haha. I mean, between “Revolution,” “Riverside,” “If You’ve Been Delivered” and the soaring vocals of “Lean On Me” you’ve got some car jams. This is a fun one.

SilageVegas Car Chasers

What an outlier in my taste this was/is! Pre-dating the rap/rock that would become evergreen at the turn of the century Silage was a quirky and fun group when you’re in the mood for something…different. “Original” is my jam.

The NormalsBetter than This

The alternative band The Normals was great and wildly underrated. “Everything (Apron Full of Stains” is tops and a song worthy of the Top 100 of the Decade conversation.

Michael EnglishGospel

One of CCMs top voices takes on hymn covers and puts a pop southern gospel take on them. When I get nostalgic for the hymns I was raised on this one I return to first. Favorites are, the swaggering “Blessed Assurance,” the earnest “Had it Not Been,” the passionate, “I Bowed on My Knees and Cried Holy,” and “I Surrender All.”

BleachStatic

It’s punk-edged with strong bass lines with a hint of pop styling. I don’t know how to describe it I guess but “Super Good Feeling” gets my spirits up anytime I need it.

The WaitingUnfazed

Hard to measure up to their two preceding albums, but this is still finely-crafted jangle pop paired with strong melody and harmony. Each tune has a catchy ear-worm vibe, but “Unfazed,” “Easy to See,” “Company You Keep,” and “Give it Up” win top flowers from me. A truly amazing band of the 90s!

Wilshire – Self Titled

Husband and wife duo that featured in Michael W Smith’s backing band for awhile, this Self Titled is a terrific pop/rock debut.

MxPxSlowly Going the Way of the Buffalo

I’m not a huge punk-rawk fan but I have a special place in my heart for these fellas. “Tomorrow’s Another Day” and “I’m Okay, You’re Okay” are my top tracks from this one.

10. Various ArtistsExodus

What a great amassing of talent as a precursor to the worship trend that would come into full force 3-5 years later. Featuring MWS, Dctalk, Sixpence, Jars of Clay, Crystal Lewis, Cindy Morgan, and the Katinas, this is a great collection. I wore this one out back in 1998.

9. Starflyer 59Fashion Focus

Truth be told I didn’t come to Starflyer 59 until much later in life. While I was aware of Shoegaze due to their Silver album from 1994, I wasn’t ready yet. They have an astounding solid catalog, but here with Fashion Focus, I find them at their most accessible. Breezy and light while still carrying vestiges of the trademark fuzzy guitars this is my overall favorite of their work…up to this point anyway. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

8. All Star UnitedInternational Anthems for the Human Race

The follow-up to Self-Titled didn’t quite match that peak but this is still a fun pop/rock album full of witty lyrics, sarcasm, and an overall good time. I own it, but I wish it was on streaming services.

7. Nicole NordemanWide Eyed

I heard “To Know You” on the radio and I was hooked. This is another fine singer-songwriter that doesn’t write bad songs. This might be the only female piano-pop album to rival Cindy Morgan’s Listen as Best of the Decade. The Nordeman song “River God” should be in the running for the top 100 songs of the decade.

6. DctalkSupernatural

These are top-notch songs, and though it’s not a cohesive album like the two masterpieces preceding it, I don’t think it ever set out to be. “My Friend (So Long)” is such an underrated song and a top 5 in their catalog in my opinion.

5. Rich MullinsJesus

This album is important and perfect in its raw, unfinished nature. His ragamuffin band did a fine job finishing up the songs and honoring the spirit of Rich’s intent, but I’ll always prefer the unfinished demos. I can almost hear the angels singing along with Rich as he roughly recorded his heart onto tape. “My Deliverer” has always chilled me to the bone in a good way. “Hard To Get” makes more and more sense, resonating ever deeper the older I get in my faith. This is a true treasure and should be owned and listened to by every music collector.

4. MWSLive the Life

Hot take? I think this is his best overall album. while Smitty has had an iconic career full of gems and some filler, this is just where I think he fired on all cylinders. No skips.

3. Jennifer KnappKansas

Jennifer’s was a soulful voice was full of gritty alt/rock prayers. Girl and guitar done right. “Whole Again,” “Hold Me Now,” Undo Me,” and “Romans” are the standouts.

2. NewsboysStep Up to the Microphone

I still keep this one close by in the car and listen regularly. This is a pop-rock gem. “WooHoo,” “Believe,” “Step Up To The Microphone,” and especially the Phil Joel lead vocal of “Entertaining Angels,” are all great songs to this day.

1. Burlap to CashmereAnybody Out There?

Nearly becoming one of those one-hit-wonder bands, their reunion Self-Titledrelease in 2011 saved them from that, but this will always be their most expansive, genre-blending, and best album. There are heavy Greek and world music influences and it’s like nothing I had ever heard before or since. Cat Stevens would be proud. “Basic Instructions” and “Treasures In Heaven” are the most well-known due to radio play, but some of the hidden gems are the title track, “Chop Chop,” “Digee Dime,” and the slow build of “Skin Is Burning.” Fantastic album.

That’s it! What we’re your favorites from 1998?

50 Songs from 1998 in Christian Music Playlist

Other posts you might enjoy: 100 Greatest Christian Songs of the 90s Full List, 100 Greatest Christian Albums of the 90s

Past year specific retrospectives: 1997: 25 Albums Celebrate 25 Years, 1996: 25 Albums Celebrate 25 Years, 1995: 25 Christian Albums 25 Years Later