Was 1999 the greatest individual year of Christian music?! Personally I don’t think so, but it certainly was a highly transitional year for the genre. It happens to coincide with major transition in my own life so I can identify. In 1999 I would have just graduated high school and started college. I left behind my love of baseball and the high school baseball team. I Struck out on my own for the first time. I Suffered through loneliness and homesickness. As such, many of these albums and songs have a very important place in my heart even twenty five years later.

So this post is a celebration and remembrance of what I think was a great year for Christian music. And one of the last that didn’t quickly pummel downhill toward the worship scene though it did contain an album that helped contribute to that shift.

So without further ado, here are my favorite twenty five albums of 1999 in Christian music. Look for additional posts from previous years and a companion playlist to listen along as we take another trip down memory lane.

The Top 10 are ranked by order of my favorite with light commentary.

1. Caedmon’s Call40 Acres

5 Stars

Nearly every time I drive cross country to Texas this album is a constant companion so it has road trip memories attached to it. I still listen to it several times a year, coming back to the title track, “Shifting Sand,” “Faith My Eyes,” “Somewhere North Of Here” and “Daring Daylight Escape” most often. This one also has the added bonus of being one of my wife’s favorites so the spin opportunities are almost unlimited.

2. Chasing FuriesWith Abandon

4.5 Stars

A great one-hit wonder band, Chasing Furies was on to something and I wish we’d gotten more from them. As it is we get the songs “Thicker” “Enchanted” and “Romance Me” and that’s enough for me.

3. SwitchfootNew Way to Be Human

4.5 Stars

I think a case could be made that this Switchfoot album is Top 2 in their catalogue but either way it’s a fine slice of well-crafted tunes. Surf-alt/rock that makes you think a bit with lyrics concerning philosophy and the deeper things of life. I still listen to this one quite a bit. It’s ballad heavy, but that’s right up my alley. “Let That Be Enough” still gets me every stinkin’ time. “Company Car” is sure to get me smiling and singing along without fail, and “Only Hope” still gives me goosebumps it’s so gorgeous.

4. Jars of ClayIf I left the Zoo

4 Stars

Song highlights for me are pretty much the first five songs. After that the album always fell off for me until closer “River Constantine.” The middle isn’t bad by any stretch, I just never connected as deeply with many of the songs. “Goodbye Goodnight” is a curious opener, but I’ve come to love it and the perspective of a string section continuing to play as the titanic is sinking. It’s inappropriately happy for the setting, but I dig it…especially the cello part. “Unforgetful You” is a turn it up jam. “Collide” is one of my overall favorite Jars songs and another strong upbeat tune. The mandolin led “No One Loves Me Like You” is folky and sweet. “Famous Last Words” has excellent piano/B3 organ flourishes from Charlie who got more of the spotlight on the album.

5. Third DayTime

4 Stars

Southern rock at its finest Third Day combines some great barn-burners with a few classic worship-centric songs like “I’ve Always Loved You” and “Your Love Oh Lord.” Other favorites are “Took My Place” and “Sky Falls Down.”

6. Fonogoesaroundcomesaround

4 Stars

Okay so I had to listen to this one while I wrote about it…so good. “Collide” is a driving rock song, “Now She’s 24” is an acoustic-guitar song in the vein of the Goo Goo Dolls, and “Drift Away” has an Oasis edge to it. This is my kind of alt-rock.

7. Audio AdrenalineUnderdog

4 stars

Probably my overall favorite top to bottom favorite Audio Album. There’s not at lot of or really any fat to skip. Favorites are “Hands and Feet” “Underdog” “Mighty Good Leader” “Get Down” and of course “The Houseplant Song.”

8. Steven Curtis ChapmanSpeechless

4 Stars

Vintage Steven Curtis here. Everything just sounds sweeping and cinematic. “Dive” is tops, with their being nary a need to skip a single song the rest of the way. This is his overall best album though Signs of Life is my personal favorite.

9. Pete StewartSelf Titled

4 Stars

Striking out on his own from Grammatrain, lead singer Pete Stewart dropped a grungy alternative gem. A great cover of “Little Country Church” Jesus era band Love Song is terrific with a tremendous guitar solo. Other favorites are, “Better off” and “Out of My Mind.”

10. GritsGrammatical Revolution

This album is important to me due to helping me make the transition from high school to college. It also may be the first rap album (unless you count Free At Last) that really captured my attention. “They All Fall Down” is hands down my favorite but you should also give “Stop Bitin,” “Return Of The Antagonist,” and “It Takes Love” a listen.

Additional favorites:

11. All Together SeparateSelf Titled

12. Out of EdenNo Turning Back

13. StavesacreSpeakeasy

14. OC SupertonesChase the Sun

15. DeliriousMezzamorohis

16. PlumbCandycoatedwaterdrops

17. NewsboysLove, Liberty, Disco

18. CommissionedTime & Season

19. Satellite SoulGreat Big Universe

20. PODFundamental Elements of Southdown

21. Bebo NormanTen Thousand Days

22. ChevellePoint #1

23. SonicfloodSelf Titled

24. Shaded RedRed Revolution

25. AvalonIn a Different Light

Honorable Mentions: (In Alphabetic Order)

Five O’ Clock PeopleNothing Venture

FurthermoreFluorescent Jellyfish

Jon GibsonThe Man Inside

Michael W SmithThis is Your Time

The KatinasSelf Titled

There you have it! What would your list look like? Who’s your #1 of 1999?! Share in the comments.

Spotify Playlist to listen

Other posts you may enjoy from the series:

1998: 25 Christian Albums Turn 25

1997: 25 Albums Celebrate 25 Years

1996: 25 Albums Celebrate 25 Years

1995: 25 Christian Albums 25 Years Later