I might be weirder than I thought you guys. I keep asking people what their favorite year is, and mostly I get blank stares. Is this not a thing? Do people not have a favorite year? Well, I do…and it’s highly likely that as a deeply nostalgia person who has loved music as long as he can remember that music may be the culprit. So here goes… another 90s music post. And yes, this was one of my formative years…let’s go all the way back to 1995. Also, in case you enjoy this post check out a few others like it here: 100 Greatest Christian Albums of the 90s, 100 Greatest Albums of Christian Music 1969-2019 Full List!!!

I was fourteen, barely into my music collecting years and all of the sudden my CCM pop listening palate expanded rapidly. Like many a teen in the 90s it was two particular albums that were largely responsible for that. They along with twenty-three albums are present on this list on what I am calling my overall favorite year in Christian music…1995. Hard to believe these are all celebrating 25 years this year, but here we are and boy do I feel old! Some have stood up better than others as far as sounding dated to their time but I’d be willing to hold these twenty-five up to almost any other year. I think it would stand toe-to-toe with any other contender. So without further delay here is a ranked list (because I must) of what I believe to be the strongest year in Christian music during the 90s, if not it’s entire history. But that’s a blog for another time…here we go!

1995 In Christian Music

25. Super Deluxe Morella’s Forest

Never listened to this one at the time but it’s got a high reputation. Noise pop musically in the vein of Starflyer 59.

24. Arms Around the WorldCode of Ethics

Perhaps the most dated sound of the bunch I also first heard these guys via radio, and it was probably the pop song “Well Done.”

23. Self-Titled Tony Vincent

Radio played the heck out of “Out of My Hands” and “Simple Things” and they were my introduction to Vincent. I would later love his song “One Deed” as a top song of the decade.

22. No DoubtPetra

Not much of a Petra fan, but I think this album when I think of them. “Right Place” and “No Doubt” are my go-to tunes.

21. Brothers KeeperRich Mullins

Title track and “Let Mercy Lead” are my favorites though “Quoting Deuteronomy To The Devil” is up there too.

20. Strip CycleMichael Knott

I’ve listened to this one a few times due to its reputation but it hasn’t clicked with me yet. Need to revisit.

19. Happily Ever AfterHoi Polloi

Aggressive and moody female rock.

18. UnpluggedThe Kry

The Kry was a truly underrated band in my opinion. This live and unplugged album is one of the few exceptions to my no live albums rule.

17. Extra*Ordinary Johnny Q. Public

Strong alt rock with the standout track “Body Be” the most well known of the tracklist.

16. I’ll Lead You HomeMichael W. Smith

I still know the words to most of these and love to sing along at the top of my lungs.

15. Love EducationJon Gibson

Love this dude’s voice, this is probably my overall favorite of his non-hits albums. Solid from top-to-bottom blue-Eyed Soul.

14. Lonely HouseGrammatrain

Grungy Rock with growling baritone vocals from Pete Stewart. Excellent.

13. The SparkPlankeye

College Alt-Rock with top notch lyrics.

12. PerfectaAdam Again

Solid album though I never quite connected with it as much as Dig.

11. Self-Titled Big Tent Revival

A bit of storytelling, country, pop/rock, ballads, alternative. All well done.

10. Delusions of GrandeurFleming & John

Man, that voice! “I’m Not Afraid” is worth inclusion alone, but listen to the whole album for sure. Vocally operatic and musically alt/rock at its finest.

9. Blue Belly SkyThe Waiting

Quirky, charming pop/rock that should have been huge. “Look at Me” is a top 25 song of the 90s Christian Music scene if you ask me.

8. GoldStarflyer 59

It’s predecessor has a bigger reputation but I prefer Gold as an entire album. Hazy, Shoe-gaze rock.

7. Way Before The FloodBlackeyed Sceva

If you love 90s alt/rock like I do then this one is a must. Lyrically challenging and willing to go places much of CCM in the era was not.

6. Love Is Against The GrainDimestore Prophets

Speaking of terrific alt/rock with top notch lyrics here’s another lesser known band and album of the era that should have gotten more love.

5. Teenage PoliticsMxPx

Iconic punk rock. Fast, fun, and loud.

4. MercuryThe Prayer Chain

As weird of an album as you’ll find in the alt/rock “Chrindie” music scene, this one lives up to its reputation as one of the finest bands and albums that the more underground Christian music of the decade has to offer.

3. This Beautiful MessSixpence None The Richer

An album of contrasts I can hardly ever decide if I love this Sixpence album more than their self titled. This one is raw and rough musically in all the right ways, and contrasted by Leigh’s angelic lilting voice. “Wishing A Room Somewhere” is their best song and it’s here.

2. Self-TitledJars of Clay

First in my heart, but second on this list of a incomparable year in CCM. Acoustic-based alt/rock with strong sections and poetic lyrics.

1. Jesus FreakDctalk

Buck it all you want this album cannot be equaled in impact on CCM…it’s simply the best. Hit singles galore from the supergroup still on “intermission.”

Many weren’t available on Spotify, but here’s a good sample of 25 songs: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/7HUbKys3lkpfoPqRb8zUYZ?si=UHupbyWORyGHD0ufTQdO6A

Just Missed:

Pass it OnMike E

BuzzGuardian

Under The WaterfallCindy Morgan

GravityOut of the Grey

Songs of the HeartDaniel Amos

What a year right?! Happy 25th to some of my all-time favorite albums in my all-time favorite year! What about you…what’s your favorite 1995 released album? Why do you love it?! Leave a comment and share if you think you know someone who’d enjoy the read.

Also, check out my other 90s Christian Music related posts for further reading here: 1996: 25 Albums Celebrate 25 Years, 100 Greatest Christian Albums of the 90s